h1

decisions

February 17, 2010

There are currently 3 stain colors down in test patches on the bedroom floor – Dark Walnut, Provincial and English Chestnut.  DW is too dark, Provincial is too….plain brown (?)….and English Chestnut at first got me very excited but the more I think about it, it’s just too red.  I’ll take some pictures tomorrow.  Normally when it comes to a decision this big I spend a LOT of time weighing all of my options, giving it all great thought, etc. etc.  I just don’t have the time now, which is probably a good thing.  Right now my gut is telling me to go with Provincial and have George or Chris mix in a bit of the English Chestnut to give it a warmer glow.

(Even as I type this I have an image of looking back in 3 days and thinking OH MY GOD why did I ever think that would look good???? Am I nuts?  Is mixing two stains just a recipe for disaster?)

On a different note, Chris began the bookshelves today – early on I decided to put built-in bookshelves in the dining room, which is a direct influence from the really adorable apartment upstairs.  The owner there put bookshelves in and it added a lot of charm and appeal.  The day after I purchased the downstairs unit I took Chris upstairs (friends live there) and he said no problem, he’d put in bookshelves.  WELL – these are going to be fancy bookshelves.  I popped over to check in on work late this afternoon and Chris was about 50% of the way done.  I was totally surprised at first because I had expected them to be much lower.  These will actually be about shoulder height, and I’m fairly sure they’ll be lovely once I get used to the size.  I can already see from the way he framed them that they’ll be very well made.  Pictures to come.

_______________________

Update – just got off phone with Kaysie.  She was lovely and reassuring but I’m suddenly just feeling very overwhelmed.  What if I fuck all this up and make disastrous decisions?   What if this little apartment doesn’t turn out to be the loveliest swan that ever existed?  What if it’s just a sort of a boring, average rental because I made bad choices?  Will the taller bookshelves make the room look too small?  Maybe the floors will be boring and drab because I have no guts.  What if this is all just a terrible disaster of beautifully executed work that I ruined with my “I watch HGTV, I can do this” idiot thinking?  What if I’m just the biggest moron on the planet?  IT COULD BE.

Leave a Reply

