h1

a picture post

April 24, 2008

In the last 48 hours I’ve had several emails from people wanting to know about the lack of an update, and I know – it’s been a little quiet on this site in the last week, not because I didn’t have things to write about, but mostly because doing something creative would really have gotten in the way of all of my massive anxiety. I mean, I could put my energy into blogging, but the panic is really going well for me right now, and I’d hate to fuck that up.

THERE ARE ONLY THREE WEEKS LEFT ON THIS COURSE.

DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA HOW MUCH WORK THERE IS LEFT TO DO? DO YOU? DO YOU? Because if you do, and if you are completely freaking out and losing your shit, well that’s fabulous – come sit by me and have a beer. Maybe four.

I still need to restructure my first radio piece, and I’ve only just started making headway on my second piece. It was supposed to be about Maine accents, but now it’s about the Patriot’s Day Storm of 2007 – the worst storm to hit Maine in 12 years. Today I spent the morning with a couple who lost their beloved summer cottage that they’ve had in the family for 42 years – the one they brought their kids and grandkids to – and I know I’m supposed to be an outside observer, a non-emotional documentarian, but when this couple started describing the home they’d lost, all of the memories washed out to sea, well, um, you’d have gotten a little choked up too.

Anyway, so by the by, I took pictures today of the little town where I’ve been working. Words cannot express how tiny and pretty it is and how “old Maine” it feels, so the pictures are gonna have to do.

3 comments

  1. Sorry about the anxiety. It will subside soon–only three weeks, right? I love the photos, especially the “Fish’N Optician.” Thanks for the update!


  2. Ditto!


  3. Oh yeah! That storm almost caused the Boston Marathon to be canceled for the first time in history (the marathon always happens on Patriot’s Day). It hit Boston very hard the night before, but eased up on the day.

    Good luck with the stress. Can’t wait to hear the end product.



Leave a Reply

