h1

my piece

February 20, 2008

If the weather cooperates, this weekend I may go for a drive. But not sure where. I’ve had some great suggestions from people who have commented here, and I’ve had an interesting time this evening with the map. Maine towns have great names. Here are some of my favorites so far:

Moosehead (natch)

Skowhegan

Kokadjo

Mattawamkeag

Wytopitlock

Squapan

Oquossoc

Passadumkeag

St. Agatha

Then there are towns that make me wonder if, after awhile, the founding fathers of Maine didn’t perhaps get a little bit overwhelmed by the whole thing and just threw darts at a map:

Denmark

Paris

Norway

Mexico

Poland

Scotland

Peru

I’m a little daunted by the size of the state. Maine is a heck of a lot larger than it looks on a map. However I need to find a story, as I need to produce a six-minute documentary radio piece in the next 3 months, and I need to find my story quick. Have you ever read the Shel Silverstein book, “The Missing Piece”? I’m probably horribly bastardizing the story, but as I remember it, it’s about a circle that is missing a triangular piece, and it rolls around finding various bits of triangles and asking each triangle, “are you my missing piece?” And none of the triangles fit properly, and none of them want to join him, and the circle just rolls sadly but determinedly along until, one day, in the most unlikely place, he finds a triangle that fits just right, and then he’s all complete and happy. The end.

This is how I envision myself in the next few weeks – doing all kinds of research, and driving out to all kinds of odd and fabulous and interesting places, and asking all kinds of people, “are you my story?” And probably a lot of them won’t be quite right, and they won’t want to join me, but eventually I will find my story, and produce my piece, and then I will be all complete and happy. The end.

One comment

  1. Remember all the safety instructions you had when you left for Maine? Remember!!!!



Leave a Reply

