h1

streak of genius

February 6, 2008

So my friend LD (hi LD!) makes a terrific point – she wrote in a comment:

I’m sensing a theme here….naked bike ride, naked shakespeare….what’s next….streaking through the LL Bean headquarters?

Just today we had a long discussion in class about “what is a story?” What makes a story worth telling? What IS the story that you are trying to tell, how are you going to tell it, and most importantly, why are you telling this story now? All very good points. I don’t know if streaking through LL Bean would make a good story…but wouldn’t you want to at least give it a listen and find out why? (Part of me would really like the answer to be, “because it’s there.”)

I was actually a bit disappointed that naked Shakespeare didn’t really mean naked Shakespeare. I mean, I didn’t think it would, but wouldn’t it be cool if it did?

6 comments

  1. Totally depends on the play. I would much rather see the cast of Midsummer Night’s Dream naked (all that frolicking and chasing…so slimming!) than the cast of Henry IV naked (One word: Falstaff).


  2. Oh GOOD POINT. Twelfth Night….very fun naked play. Richard III or Henry V….naked battle scenes. Not so good. What if the swords slip?


  3. Also – Hamlet – never was there a cast so cold and pale.


  4. Macbeth – “is this a dagger which I see before me” or are you just happy to see me?


  5. Also…Lear. An entire, mentally-ill family parading across the stage. With a naked Fool in pursuit. That’s too much Focus on the Family, if you know what I mean…


  6. There’s been more than one Lear where they all really did get naked on the heath…between that and the whole eye gouging thing, well….ackkk.



Leave a Reply

